Mellowing Moments | Whispers on the Train 13

Recap: Every morning, Jayanthan’s train rattled to a halt at Poongudi, a station that marked the halfway point on his journey to Trichy. But Poongudi wasn’t just another stop – it was where Jyoti, a bright and cheerful hawker, brought a ray of sunshine into his day. Jayanthan began to believe a connection was blossoming. On a whim, sparked by Jyoti’s mention of Trichy, Jayanthan took her there. He felt something was different within him that day.

Part 2: Parallel Tracks:

Chapter 13/26: Mellowing Moments

Chataka, another twin-tailed sparrow swooped down, landing on the sandy ground beside its companion. It chirped inquisitively, “Kyivyiiv? Aren’t you coming with me, dear Chataki?”

Chataki sparrow, still rooted to the spot, replied with a single, resolute chirp. “No. Today looks to be different. I’m waiting for something.”

Chataka ruffled its feathers in confusion. “Different how? I ate some lovely fat worms near the ditch. Nothing’s changed.” It scratched its beak with a clawed foot, a gesture that mirrored the nervous itch crawling up my own arm.

The sweltering sun dipped lower in the sky, but the heat only intensified, thick and stifling. My fingers tapped impatiently against my bag, the zipper snagged on a loose thread. Jyoti, however, seemed not concerned. Leaning against the rough bark of the banyan tree, she radiated an aura of calmness. The loose strand of hair still danced in the breeze, carrying the sweet scent of jasmine tucked behind her ear.

Suddenly, a wave of awareness washed over me. Despite her composed posture, a sheen of sweat glistened on Jyoti’s face. Without a second thought, I bolted towards a drowsy vendor slumped outside the station’s iron bars. He roused slightly as I approached, and moments later I was back, brandishing a brightly woven hand fan. Its colors mirrored the vibrant patterns adorning Jyoti’s sari.

Her eyes widened in surprise as I presented it to her. A smile, brighter than the setting sun, bloomed on her face. “It’s beautiful,” she whispered, her fingers gently unfolding the fan and setting it to a slow rhythm. “But why?”

Taking a deep breath, I channeled my inner Gemini Ganesan – the legendary actor known for his dramatic romantic gestures. “You bring sunshine to everyone’s mornings, Jyoti,” I declared, hoping my voice didn’t crack. “Today, let me bring you some shade.”

For a moment, she blinked, a flicker of confusion crossing her features. Then, a peal of laughter erupted from her, so sudden and delightful it took my breath away. She threw her head back, hands flying to cover her mouth, her entire body shaking with mirth. Even as she tried to regain her composure, tears welled up in her eyes. Finally, she managed a breathless, “Bekuff!” – a word that held both fondness and annoyance.

Chataki chirped excitedly, “Kyivyiiv!” urging its companion to join the fun. But the other sparrow remained perched on the branch, seemingly uninterested.

A warm satisfaction bloomed in my chest. I settled down beside her, stealing glances as she composed herself. My mind, however, was a whirlwind – a tangled mess of words, yearning, and a desperate hope. I envisioned whisking her away, just the two of us, to a concealed haven – a field full of Bermuda grass dotted with thumbai flowers, a charming colonial cottage, or perhaps a tharavad house with an ambal kulam – the lily pond – in the back. Laughter and conversation would flow freely over there, our smiles as bright as the sunflower. The thought of losing her was unbearable.

Speaking to her always made me feel like I could soar through the sky. But today, a knot of nerves twisted in my gut.

Something was different.

Although I spoke, my mind raced with unspoken desires. Did she feel the same? Her expression remained serene, her brow unfurrowed, a stark contrast to the turmoil within me. Do I dare confess my feelings? Should I ask her to explore the world by my side? Would she join me on this adventure, or shatter my dreams with a single word?

A sudden rustle drew my attention back to Jyoti. Her fingers brushed back-and-forth near my ear, creating a faint “frffft, frffft” sound.

“Hello? What happened?” she asked with a knowing smile.

A grin tugged at the corners of my lips, but I simply shook my head. “Nothing,” I mumbled, the truth a tangled mess in my throat. “Just… thinking.”

She tilted her head, her gaze unwavering. “There’s something on your mind, I know it. But you won’t tell me.”

Chataka hopped down from the branch now, joining Chataki and chirping excitedly, “Kyivyiiv! Kyivyiiv!

(To be continued)

I’m participating in #BlogchatterA2Z 2024

15 thoughts on “Mellowing Moments | Whispers on the Train 13

  1.  “You bring sunshine to everyone’s mornings, Jyoti,” I declared, hoping my voice didn’t crack. “Today, let me bring you some shade.”

    Ah. He’s got the ‘rizz’ as my generation calls it. Smooth. I love the images! They’re very accurate and bring alive this narrative. And I don’t blame the birdies so involved either. I’m just like them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment